Numbering Resources

NPA (Area) Codes

The area served by the NANP is divided into smaller Numbering Plan Areas (NPAs), each identified by a three-digit NPA code, commonly called an area code.

For quick information about a specific area code, use the area code search. You can also find the area code for a city or town with population greater than 20,000. The site also provides area code maps.

NANPA provides a variety of NPA Reports. These reports include identification of geographic area codes (i.e., area codes that designate specific geographic areas) and non-geographic area codes (i.e., designate specific services such as "toll-free"). In addition, there is a report that identifies those planned area codes not yet in service. It lists anticipated in-service dates if they are known. The "status" column provides additional information. A status of "suspended" indicates that the state public utility commission has suspended introduction of the new area code. A status of "pending" indicates that the new area code will be introduced "just in time" to preclude number exhaust.

NANPA also provides for download an area code database in a CSV file that can be found under Area Code Relief Planning Reports. Use this database to generate custom queries and reports to meet your needs. Database field definitions are available.

NANPA uses NPA Allocation Plan and Assignment Guidelines prepared by the ATIS-sponsored Industry Numbering Committee to administer area codes.

More about area codes...

The format of an area code is NXX, where N is any digit 2 through 9 and X is any digit 0 through 9. Initially, the middle digit of an area code had to be "0" or "1". When this restriction was removed in 1995, additional area code combinations became available. There are 800 possible combinations associated with the NXX format. Some of these combinations, however, are not available or have been reserved for special purposes

Among them are the following:

Easily Recognizable Codes When the second and third digits of an area code are the same, that code is called an easily recognizable code (ERC). ERCs designate special services; e.g., 888 for toll-free service.
N11 These 8 ERCs, called service codes, are not used as area codes.
N9X The 80 codes in this format, called expansion codes, have been reserved for use during the period when the current 10-digit NANP number format undergoes expansion.
37X and 96X Two blocks of 10 codes each have been set aside by the INC for unanticipated purposes where it may be important to have a full range of 10 contiguous codes available.

  Legal Notice | Neutrality | Privacy Notice | Website Guide